Home > 2010


South African Immunology Society meeting - Cradle of Mankind Johannesburg, 5 - 8 December 2010

The Clinical Infectious Diseases Research Initiative offered registration, travel and accommodation bursaries to African scientists in training, from outside South Africa, to attend the 2nd South African Immunology Society Conference in the Cradle of Humankind outside Johannesburg, South Africa, from 5th to 8th December 2010.

Professor Willem Hanekom is the out-going president of the Society as well as the Co-Director of CIDRI.

Abstracts, curriculum vitaes and letters of motivation were submitted and this resulted in the award of 12 bursaries, awarded on scientific merit. 11 of the 12 presented posters and 1 delegate delivered an oral presentation.

CIDRI desk Group Table

All the award holders expressed a great appreciation for the bursaries and felt that the conference had been extremely beneficial for their research careers. All the delegates from outside Johannesburg stayed at the Ingwenya Country Escape and this afforded the bursary holders opportunities to discuss their research with the South African and international speakers at an individual level. This networking opportunity was really appreciated especially the workshops on guidelines for applying for funding for future research. This was presented by Professors Robert J Wilkinson and Frank Brombacher.

Bursaries were awarded to the following delegates:

christelle mbondji

Dr Christelle Mbondji from Centre Pasteur in Cameroon

Poster: Human Antibody response to Lethocerus salivary antigens as a correlate of protection to Buruli ulcer

sheila kimaro

Sheila Kimaro from Wellcome Trust Kilifi Centre in Kenya

Poster: The adherence of streptococcus pneumoniae to human nasopharyngeal cells

tonney nyirenda

Tonney Nyirenda from Malawi-Liverpool-Wellcome Trust Centre in Blantyre, Malawi

Poster: Nontyoidal salmonella-specific CD4+ T cell cytokine immune responses are maintained in young children, despite evidence of cytokine immune maturation in age matched children induced by polyclonal stimuli

Guillaume Sanou from University of Ouagadougou, Burkina Faso

Poster: T cells profile in children 3 to 10 years living in Malaria endemic zone in Burkina Faso

amidou diarra

Amidou Diarra also from Burkina Faso was unable to attend in person but sent his poster.

Poster: Seasonal variation and clinical protection of antibodies to a panel of pre-erythrocytics and erythrocytics malaria vaccine antigens in children below 5 years living in Malaria hyper endemic area of Burkina Faso

elisa nemes

Dr Elisa Nemes from Chantal Biya International Reference Centre in Yaounde, Cameroon

Poster: Coordinate expression of CD127 and CD38 and HLA-DR distinguish lymphocyte subsets associated to immunological status and HIV replication in ART-naïve children

jacqueline kyosiimire-lugemwa

Jacqueline Kyosiimire-Lugemwa from MRC/UVRI Uganda Research Unit on AIDS in Entebbe, Uganda

Poster: Immunologic, virologic and genetic studies of HIV-1 infected long term non-progressors in Uganda

joy baseke

Joy Baseke from Uganda – Case Western Research University Collaboration Immunology laboratory

Poster: Relationship between the amount of Tumour Necrosis Factor alpha and activation of latent TB

betty auma

Betty Oliver Auma from MRC/UVRI Uganda Research Unit on AIDS

Poster: Prevalence of pre-existing T cell immune responses against adenovirus vectors in HIV negative Ugandans

andrew obuku

Andrew Obuku from MRC/UVRI Uganda Research Unit on AIDS

Poster: Macrophage inflammatory protein 1 Beta and Interferon Gamma responses in acute/early HIV-1 infection

ruth nyakundi

Ruth Nyakundi from Institute of Primate Research, Nairobi, Kenya

Poster: Immunological and survival profiles of non-human primates co-infected with schistosome and Plasmodium parasites

susan mugaba

Susan Mugaba from the MRC in Uganda

Oral presentation: Comparison of cross reactive epitopes in subtype A1, D and group M consensus peptides in a chronic HIV-1 infected Ugandan population


CIDRI and Wellcome Trust Fellows meeting, 18th October 2010

Fellows meeting 18th Oct 2010

A one-day meeting was held at the Institute of Infectious Diseases and Molecular Medicine, Faculty of Health Sciences, University of Cape Town, in the Wolfson Pavilion Lecture Theatre.
Professor Robert J Wilkinson, CIDRI Director, gave an overview of the reasons behind the progress of CIDRI.
CIDRI fellows who have held awards for at least six months and Wellcome Trust fellows based at the Institute were invited to present their current research projects. The result was an interesting and informative day of research findings.

5 CIDRI Post Graduate Scholarship holders and 4 Post Doctoral Fellows presented work:

  • Mrs Rabecca Tadokera
  • Ms Kariema Dhansay
  • Ms Ntokozo Dambuza
  • Dr Johan van der Watt
  • Dr Phumla Sinxadi
  • Dr Putuma Gqamana
  • Dr Alex Zawaira
  • Dr Nobubelo Ngandu
  • Dr Suzana Savvi

Wellcome Trust Fellows who also presented their research:

  • Dr Jo-Ann Passmore
  • Dr Darren Martin
  • Mrs Kerryn Matthews
  • Professor Mark Nicol
  • Dr David Lowe
  • Dr Tom Scriba
  • Assoc. Professor Graeme Meintjes
  • Professor Stephen Lawn

Gary Maartens

Professor Gary Maartens, a member of the CIDRI Steering committee, concluded the day with special thanks to all the presenters and announced that Dr Alex Zawaira was selected as the winner of the “best presentation of the meeting”.

The meeting was followed by a cocktail reception in the IDM foyer.




Wellcome Trust Frontiers meeting, 11 to 13th February 2010

Applying new technologies to the epidemiology, prediction and control of antibiotic resistance in developing countries

CIDRI contributed to the organisation of this meeting which was held at the Spier Conference Centre, Stellenbosch.

UCT researchers present included:
Graeme Meintjes
Mark Nicol
Stephen Lawn and
B Gay Elisha.

Robert J Wilkinson presented a plenary lecture ‘Antitubercular Drug resistance in the context of epidemic HIV associated tuberculosis in South Africa’.

Distinguished attendees included:
Nirmal K Ganguly (National Institute for Immunology, New Delhi),
Nicholas J White (Oxford University Mahidol programme, Bangkok),
Stanley Falkow (Stanford University),
Gordon Dougan (Wellcome Trust Sanger Institute),
Duncan Maskell (University of Cambridge),
Peter Smith (London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine and Governor of the Wellcome Trust) and Chair of the CIDRI ISAB,
Keith Klugman (Emory University).